NYPL Blog

Not sure what to read next? Explore expert-curated lists filled with must-read books across all genres. Or take a deep dive into The New York Public Library's research collections with posts written by our librarians, curators, and staff. And discover the diverse array of programs, resources, services, and materials offered by NYPL.

Explore By:

  • 12 Gripping (And New-ish) True Crime Reads

    By Emily Pullen, Reader Services Coordinator | May 16, 2022
    Looking for unfamiliar true crime? These riveting stories have all been published in the past few years, many just in the past few months.
  • Nine New Inspiring (And Tea-Spilling) Celebrity Memoirs

    By Carrie McBride, Communications | May 12, 2022
    Filled with vulnerability and personal truths, these memoirs highlight the authors' struggles as they've faced loss, change, and doubt.
  • AAPI Picture Book Recommendations from the Teen Reading Ambassadors

    By Rachel Roseberry, Manager, Young Adult Literacy Programs | May 11, 2022
    These books from AAPI authors and illustrators showcase multiple identities, experiences, and traditions.
  • Gear Up for a Great Read: Pulitzer-Winning Books of 2022

    By Carrie McBride, Communications | May 9, 2022
    The honored books include a comedic campus novel, a powerful story of poverty and resilience, and a sweeping history of Cuba.
  • 11 Memoirs That Shine the Spotlight on Mothers

    By Emily Pullen, Reader Services Coordinator | May 5, 2022
    Relationships with mothers are complex, and these memoirs examine both the beauty and the heartbreak. 
  • Bronx-Raised: 10 Memoirs

    By Carrie McBride, Communications | May 4, 2022
    Born at different times and in different neighborhoods, the authors below were indelibly shaped by their childhoods in the Bronx.
  • Five YA Novels Set in the Bronx

    By Cierra Bland, Social Media Manager | May 4, 2022
    Head uptown for these stories of young people learning and growing in the Bronx. 
  • Readalikes for Popular #BookTok Titles

    By Liz Baldwin, Adult Librarian | May 4, 2022
    Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL)
    Looking for a good read without a wait? Or you've read through the latest #BookTok and need something new? Here are some suggestions.
  • Endearing YA Romances for Fans of Heartstopper

    By Carrie McBride, Communications | May 3, 2022
    Smitten by Heartstopper? Here are more heartfelt and affirming reads that highlight the sweetness of young love.
  • Nine New Fiction Reads by Asian American Women

    By NYPL Staff | April 29, 2022
    These authors draw on the cultures of China, India, Japan, Taiwan, and the Philippines—and their lives in the U.S.—to tell these stories.