NYPL Blog

Not sure what to read next? Explore expert-curated lists filled with must-read books across all genres. Or take a deep dive into The New York Public Library's research collections with posts written by our librarians, curators, and staff. And discover the diverse array of programs, resources, services, and materials offered by NYPL.

Explore By:

  • 12 Bookish Contemporary Romances To Check Out

    By Carrie Mcbride, Blog Editor | May 25, 2022
    In these charming books, the protagonists have a clear love of the written word. But can they find love for themselves off the page?
  • Nine New Contemporary Romances That Make Love Feel Possible

    By Carrie McBride, Communications | April 19, 2022
    For maximum enjoyment, pair these with a park bench under chirping birds, a sunny window seat, or a picnic blanket near a blossoming tree.
  • 50 All-Time Favorite Romance Books

    By Anne Rouyer, Supervising Young Adult Librarian | February 11, 2022
    Mulberry Street Library
    Classics, contemporary, LGBTQ, historicals, sci-fi/fantasy, thrillers—these books still have the power to make us smile or catch our breath.
  • Big-Hearted Novels for Fans of Starstruck

    By Cierra Bland, Social Media Manager | August 23, 2021

    If you love Starstruck and other stories of odd couples and star-crossed lovers, check out these joyful stories.

  • Enter the Jasmine Guillory Universe

    By Cierra Bland, Social Media Manager | February 13, 2021

    Her contemporary romance novels depict relatable characters navigating race, gender, friendships, careers, politics, and more. Oh, and they…

  • More Teen Romances For Readers Who Hate Romance Novels

    By Andrea Lipinski, Young Adult Librarian | February 12, 2021
    Perhaps these teen titles will tempt you to give romances a try.
  • Quiz Yourself on These Romantic Literary Quotes

    By Cierra Bland, Social Media Manager | February 11, 2021

    Whether you love the classics or wait with baited breath for the latest release, we want to see if you can match these famous quotes with t…

  • 30+ Bridgerton Readalikes to Steam Up All Your Nights

    By Anne Rouyer, Supervising Young Adult Librarian | January 4, 2021
    Don't be discouraged if you're in a holds queue for one of the Bridgerton books—here are dozens of similar books to try while you wait.
  • The Heir Affair and a Royal Romance Roundup

    By Anne Rouyer, Supervising Young Adult Librarian | July 20, 2020
    A round-up of adult and young adult royal romances, old and new, to keep you busy all summer long.
  • 11 Ice Hot Hockey Romances

    By Anne Rouyer, Supervising Young Adult Librarian | April 10, 2019
    You don't have to know the rules of everyone's favorite frozen sport to enjoy these steamy selections from a romance sub-genre.