Fall 2022 Picks for Teens

24 Books Found

  • Across a Field of Starlight

    Amid an intergalactic war, two young people find each other and forge a connection that remains across the vastness of space.  Adventure, identity, and love all meld together with Blue Delliquanti's compelling illustrations.  For those who love found family and queer rep in space, this is one of the highlights of my year!

    - Stephanie Whelan
    Cover of Across a Field of Starlight
  • The Black Kids

    In Los Angeles in 1992, Ashley Bennett and her friends lead a charmed life. Then four police officers were acquitted of beating a black man named Rodney King. Suddenly, she's not just one of the girls, she's one of the black kids for fans of The Hate U Give and Dear Martin.

     

    - Anne Rouyer
    Cover of The Black Kids
  • Boys I Know

    In this debut novel, we follow the messy life of June Chu, a Taiwanese American who struggles to find herself in Pine Grove. This great coming-of-age story addresses Asian identity, sexuality, familial pressure, and the ways they intersect. 

    - Deanna Schiffman
    Cover of Boys I Know
  • The Case Study of Vanitas

    A young vampire and a doctor determined to save vampires from a curse come together in a steam-punk style Paris. Fans of Bungo Stray Dogs and Black Butler will take to the strong characters and solid fantasy world.

    - Atticus Sutcliffe
    Cover of The Case Study of Vanitas
  • The Gathering Dark

    Contributions from a blend of bestselling and critically acclaimed writers are brought together in this intriguing book to supply a dose of mystery and horror through familiar tales from our youthful days.

    - Izabela Owusu-Ansah
    Cover of The Gathering Dark
  • Himawari House

    Three foreign-exchange students on the cusp of adulthood travel to Japan to find themselves in this emotionally gut-wrenching story of friendship, identity and learning how to live. 

    - Elizabeth Graham
    Cover of Himawari House
  • If I Go Missing

    A haunting, poignant plea on behalf of the missing and murdered Indigenous teenage girl and women in Canada. Combining excerpts from a letter from 14-year-old Brianna Jonnie written to the Winnipeg Chief of Police begging him to take action and striking illustrations by Indigenous artist Neal Shannacappo this powerful book will stay with you long after you close its pages.

     

    - Annie Lin
    Cover of If I Go Missing
  • In the Key of Nira Ghani

    A Guyanese teen (Nira) is trying to find her footing living in Canada while pursuing her passion for music against her parent's wishes of wanting her to become a doctor.

     

    - Narindra Bishunnath
    Cover of In the Key of Nira Ghani
  • The Inheritance Games

    Avery Grambs's life changes instantly when she inherits the entire fortune of billionaire Tobias Hawthorne. The catch? Avery has no idea why -- or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. For fans of puzzles, mysteries, and love quadrangles. The fourth book in the series, The Final Gambit, is out this fall.

    - Anne Rouyer
    Cover of The Inheritance Games
  • Lazarus

    Earth and its dwindling resources have been divided between a few ruling families. Forever is the Carlyle family Lazarus: a soldier bred, trained & enhanced to be the perfect warrior. But will she live long enough to learn the truth? Succession meets Mad Max: Fury Road, with a little 6 Million Dollar Man thrown in for good measure.

    - Isaiah Pittman
    Cover of Lazarus
  • Message Not Found

    Told in quick chapters with text and email transcripts, this YA mystery explores grief, friendship, and what happens when you learn someone is not who you think they are. The book is set in Alaska in the middle of winter and is perfect for the cool weather.

    - Zoe Smolen
    Cover of Message Not Found
  • Mieruko-chan

    Miko Yotsuya is a teenage girl who sees horrific-looking ghosts and spirits. No one can see these ghosts except for her as Miko frantically tries to get away with the spirits not knowing, all the while protecting her friends and family.

    Cover of Mieruko-chan
  • One For All

    Tania is devastated when her musketeer father dies, and his will sends her to finish school. Until she learns that the finishing school is training the next generation of musketeers, together with her new sisters, Tania must fight to save the king from a deadly plot.

    - Alex Kohn
    Cover of One For All
  • Over My Dead Body

    This fun, witchy, dark graphic novel send up to academia uses lush colors and a captivating plot. Perfect for fall and fans of the Chilling Adventure of Sabrina.

    - Zoe Smolen
    Cover of Over My Dead Body
  • Run on Your New Legs

    Shouta Kikuzato was beginning high school, intending to make it big in athletics. However, an accident cost him one of his legs. He has to start over again with new goals and a new sport.

    Cover of Run on Your New Legs
  • The Story of More

    The perfect book for those interested in learning about climate change and creating a sustainable future.

     

    - Izabela Owusu-Ansah
    Cover of The Story of More
  • This Rebel Heart

    This story of the student-led 1956 Hungarian revolution with magical realism elements focuses on characters who are Jewish and queer, creating a story you will never forget. When the river speaks, listen to the story it tells.

    - Alex Kohn
    Cover of This Rebel Heart
  • Thorn

    Princess Alyrra has her title and identity removed and becomes an ordinary goose girl. A great take on a lesser-known fairy tale.

    Cover of Thorn
  • A Thousand Steps into Night

    In this enjoyable, compelling Japanese-inspired fantasy, Miuko, an ordinary girl living in a small, forgettable village, becomes cursed by a demon and is forced on a journey to undo the curse. This book is perfect for fantasy lovers looking for something new, it does a good job discussing sexism and patriarchal oppression, and there is a twist in the middle that keeps me thinking about this book months later.

    - Deanna Schiffman
    Cover of A Thousand Steps into Night
  • Twice as Perfect

    Seventeen-year-old Adanna (also known as Sophie) is a second-generation Nigerian Canadian girl dealing with an estranged older brother, helping her cousin plan a huge Nigerian wedding, and pressure from her parents about her future. This book deals well with identity, growing up the child of immigrants, and familial pressure, and does an excellent job setting up her relationships with her friends, Chioma and Patricia, as well as the relationships with the two love interests, Toya and Sam.

     

    - Deanna Schiffman
    Cover of Twice as Perfect
  • A Universe of Wishes

    This critically acclaimed young adult volume welcomes every voice to lead, empower, and take command of their universe.

    - Izabela Owusu-Ansah
    Cover of A Universe of Wishes
  • The Weight of Blood

    Follow biracial Maddy as she goes to her Georgia high school’s first integrated prom: in 2014. If you loved Carrie, this horror novel told partially through a true crime podcast lens is for you.

    Cover of The Weight of Blood
  • The Words in My Hands

    Piper keeps an art journal. It's where she can work out her complicated feelings about being Deaf in a hearing world, a world where food shortages and environmental collapse surround her, and her mother won't stop bugging her about her grades when all she wants is to create art. 

     

    - Alex Kohn
    Cover of The Words in My Hands
  • ​​Curse of the Chosen

    High fantasy books full of sorcery and knights are not for everybody. This book is. What starts as a fight for the throne becomes a Squid Game-Esque survival game pitting bloodthirsty killers against clever aristocrats and scrappy underdogs, but who will win?

    - Joey Leyko Picciotto
    Cover of ​​Curse of the Chosen